Welcome to the Mandible Claw! Here, Have a Podcast

4 Mar

Well hello there, and welcome to the inaugural Mandible Claw Podcast. In this episode we try to let you get to know the hosts, Danielle Matheson and Brandon Stroud, but things quickly devolve as all podcasts recorded at 3:00am are wont to do.

On this edition of the podcast, we revisit our happiest wrestling memories, do some karaoke, and go to some very dark places in our psyches. Brandon will do anything for Stan Hansen, but he won’t do that. Find out what “that” is, and more, at the link below!

The Mandible Claw, Episode 1: How to Kind of Succeed at Podcasting Without Really Trying

Podcast Visual Aids after the jump…

Outback Jack
Outback Jack is BONZA!

IT'S A CHICKEN

Danielle and Yohnel Sanders. “IT’S A CHICKEN” rubber chicken not pictured.

And for those of you dying to have the coolest ringtone ever, Brandon Stroud does the Repo Man theme.

15 Responses to “Welcome to the Mandible Claw! Here, Have a Podcast”

  1. Boy Saturyne March 4, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    I’d say I’m irrationally excited about this, but I think it’s entirely rational.

  2. Brandon Stroud March 4, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    Correction: If I could change one thing about WWE right now, I’d bring LayCool back. That should’ve been my answer.

  3. alopezb5 March 4, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    Great podcast.
    Would listen again..especially if there is more ‘Wrestling karaoke w/Brandon Stroud’.

  4. Nick Downton (@M4G3RK) March 4, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I feel like Brandon kinda got side tracked when talking about the ACW dvd releases. He was going to mention how the ACW vs Ricky Starks pre-show match was actually fantastic for a change. It was really great and can’t wait til it gets uploaded.

  5. JSF March 4, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    I can’t believe I stopped everything I was doing to listen to this… oh, wait, I can.

    • themosayat March 6, 2013 at 6:35 am #

      ha ha ha my same story last night XD

  6. Jessica Hudnall March 4, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Great cast, would pod again. Please provide this in a daily format, thank you.

  7. Delsaber March 5, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Good stuff. I hope it’s in the iTunes listing soon so my crappy Podcast app can pick it up.

  8. slimreeper March 5, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    Fantastic first podcast, hit a lot of good points. And I agree wholeheartedly about the drastic need for the commentary to improve. The Monsoon-Ventura exchange is a perfect example of how wrestling commentary should work. Quite excited for more intelligent analysis from two of the best wrestling journalists out there. THEY GONNA CARVE. . .YOU. . .UP! *Hits camera with toothpick*

  9. Kevin Newburn (@KevinNewburn) March 5, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I enjoyed the podcast a great deal. I also really liked the part about Monsoon and Ventura on commentary. Who’s going to teach kids these days the difference between an abdominal stretch and an octopus stretch or why the heel is grabbing the ropes? Certainly not Cole and Lawler.

    One quick thing that’s not negative at all. I’m not as plugged into the indy scene as some may be (Seattle = SW Alaska), I’m not very familiar with some of the Chickara and ACW guys. I love hearing about that stuff but if you can remember that not everyone in your audience is familiar with say ACH I think that would make the show much more enjoyable.

    I mean don’t dumb it down, but I don’t know just be the Monsoon and Ventura of indy wrestling. You two can choose who gets to be the Body.

  10. Stacey March 11, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    I podcast while wading through broken books at work so I love having them to listen to. I love hearing everyone talk about their early prograps memories.

    • Stacey March 11, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      In addition, thank you for mentioning Sexy Boy because I was waiting for it and when it looked like it was going to be left off the list I started drafting a strongly worded comment about it. Of course, since you’re my friends it mostly included phrases like “I haz a sad” and the like. But yeah… you know the HBK mark would never let you hear the end of it.

      I have a collection of the WWE CDs that didn’t circulate that we removed from the library collection that now live at my desk. So Danielle, I get you.

      I’d also like to nominate Test’s theme song only because for some reason it made its way onto many of my mix cds back in the day.

      • Stacey March 11, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

        Also “Grab Dem Cakes” because of reasons.

  11. Bret G March 18, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    I’m enjoying this podcast! You guys talking about your old wrestling memories has me going back and watching the old Wrestlemanias. And I totally see what you mean about the commentary.

Leave a Reply

