Revisiting King of Trios 2012: Team ROH vs. The Sendai Girls

22 Mar

The following is a snippet I wrote for the RSPW Awards. There wasn’t really a shot in the dark of this winning….anything, really, but if you ever wonder why I don’t write about King of Trios, but talk about it so incessantly, this should clear a few things up.

Never before have I attempted to write about what happened at King of Trios. Every time I do, inevitably I end up staring at a blank page, thinking about warm sunny days, new friends that became best friends, and the best, most emotional weekend of wrestling I’ve ever experienced. Trying to put into words what I took away from the weekend is the most frustrating thing. It’s an event that has taken residence in the happiest place in my heart, and sharing memories that I treasure turns me selfish and I want to keep them all for myself. Just go buy the DVDs, you jerks, and leave me alone with my feelings.

Warm fuzzies and Ophidian hugs aside, the actual wrestling was, in short, amazing. For a lot of people it changed the idea of how wrestling could be – how wrestling should be. Whether it was seeing Mike Bennett in a new light, or wanting to throw yourself headlong into joshi puroresu, I don’t think anyone came away from that weekend unchanged. I know this seems hyperbolic and overstated, but if you were there, you know. There’s a chance you may remember good wrestling from an event a hundred pay per views later, but the effect this kind of great wrestling has on you will never leave you, and serve as a constant reminder of why you watch in the first place.

If you weren’t there, there is one match I would point to above all others as the best match of the weekend, and by and large the best match I have seen all year. Opening up night 3, Team Sendai Girls vs. Team Ring of Honor set the bar for not just the weekend, but for any match that came after it. It is 15 minutes of pure. Wrestling. heaven.

The Young Bucks found their niche as smarmy little conceited jerks long before this match, and were the perfect foils for Team Sendai. These three ladies walked into the weekend, to the great excitement some but unknown to most, and made every person fall in love with them. And I’m not saying they flirted and flaunted themselves. They kicked the ass of everyone who stepped in front of them, and stood as heroes in the end, even if victory wasn’t in the cards. The indomitable spirit of the Chisako sisters, and the joy they bring to the ring is infectious. I dare you to find someone in any of the top organizations in North America who throws kicks and elbows like Meiko Satomura. Her pele kick….her pele kick gives me feelings. If I were AJ Styles and I saw that, I would immediately retire it from my repertoire and feel ashamed I had ever attempted it in the first place.

There is a clear and concise story being told throughout the match by everyone. It has moments of comedy (see the ROH 3MB + Maria), feats of strength, high spots, submissions, just…everything. If you don’t have an emotional reaction to Satomura, left on her own, near beaten and exhausted, fighting off all three members of team ROH in the biggest show of heart since Boromir had to defend those damn hobbits…well…I don’t think you have any feelings in you at all.

The entire event is worth owning if you couldn’t be in attendance, and the fact that there were multiple matches listed from the event to choose from speaks volumes when you compare it to some of the major pay per views that happened in 2012. But for every Shield member put through a table, and every Money in the Bank briefcase won, there is a little piece of your heart waiting to be stolen by King of Trios, while this match runs off with the rest.

 

Danielle Matheson is the curator of The Mandible Claw, and spends every Thursday night trying to prove that TNA isn’t as bad as you think it is for With Leather. When not writing, Danielle can be found painting fat man wrestlers, Skyping with goblins, and arguing at 3:00am about the proper scale for Hank Pym to accomplish things because her life is sometimes super weird.

8 Responses to “Revisiting King of Trios 2012: Team ROH vs. The Sendai Girls”

  1. Ari March 22, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Biggest, BIGGEST hearts in my eyes right now for The Sendai Girls. BRB watching the rest of King of Trios.

    • themandibleclaw March 22, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      You are in for the biggest treat. The biggest! Tsubasa Kuragaki is my heart.

  2. Philip Rosenbaum March 22, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    I could read days and days and days of stuff about King of Trios 2012. When I was feeling bad about wrestling after the Royal Rumble, I finally took Brandon’s advice and headed over to Smart Mark to pick up the streams of all three nights. I watched them over the course of that night and the next day, and it was love. Over the next month, I picked up every single Chikara event available and my love only grew. But I’ll never forget my first love. It restored my faith in something that I love (and yeah, I’m using that word a lot) to the point that I will never give it up again. KoT 2012 didn’t just save my fandom, it changed my life in a lot of respects. In a world where something like that exists…it makes it a lot easier to realize everything’s going to be alright. That’s not even an exaggeration; my outlook on life has gotten a lot better since I watched that show, like it healed and enhanced a part of my heart that I didn’t know was there. I’m sorry this comment isn’t about the article specifically, Danielle. I don’t know what I could say. Everything you said is spot on and just so right, and I’d love for others to be able to share their experiences with this wonderful event, whether they were present or not.

  3. themosayat March 23, 2013 at 4:09 am #

    I had asked you, danielle, a few days ago on your youtube channel .. because I don’t live in the U.S. and have never been to a wrestling show live ! and didn’t even know about independant wrestling companies until 2011 !! I asked you what company should I choose to watch : CHIKARA, ROH, DGUSA, PWG or other ?!

    I want you guys to tell me which other 2 dvds (because I’ve decided to buy KoT 2012 now because of this article) I should buy and watch, and why !

    also, which company is the best between those, and why ? and which wrestlers are the most awesome, and why ?

    please answer me guys ! I wanna start from zero and go all the way with this !!

    • Robert Conspiracy March 23, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

      Well, what sort of wrestling do you like? Any favorite wrestlers? Chikara, ROH, and PWG have all been in business for around 10 years, so they have pretty daunting back catalogs with a lot of good stuff. DG USA is newer and I’ve never really felt compelled to watch it, so I wouldn’t know what to suggest there.

      If you like King of Trios 2012 and want to watch another Trios show, I personally really liked King of Trios 2009. It features some current WWE and TNA wrestlers like Austin Aries, Daniel Bryan, and Antonio Cesaro (these two, along with Dave Taylor, form the amazing Team Uppercut) so if you like them, maybe give it a look. There are two matches that stand out as being kind of bad, but the rest of the event more than makes up for it.

      Another DVD you could consider is The Best of PWG Vol. 3:
      http://www.prowrestlingguerrilla.com/merch/comps/dvd00SO3.html
      I’m not sure if the first two volumes are still in print, but I like the matches I’ve seen on this one and it seems like a good compilation. It might be better to try something like that as an introduction instead of a specific ROH or PWG show.

      I hope this helps!

      • themosayat March 24, 2013 at 1:13 am #

        it does help, thank you !
        but what I wanted to know is a describtion of each one and it’s best wrestlers … if you understand what I really want.

      • rodafowa April 3, 2013 at 6:25 am #

        Thanks for recommending King Of Trios 2009. I saw and loved KoT 2012 but was a bit overwhelmed by the amount of stuff available so procrastinated on picking up anything more like a massive idiot. I’ve just watched all three nights of 2009 over the course of a weekend and absolutely loved it, particularly anything involving either Team Uppercut or El Generico. :D So, yeah, thanks!

  4. Bret G March 25, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    This match is excellent! Now I’m trying to track down Sendai Girls matches and seeing if I can pick up a DVD or something.

Leave a Reply

