The Mandible Claw Podcast Episode 9: Waiting for the Punchline

2 Jul

gelistico2

This week on The Mandible Claw, Brandon and Danielle talk Air Sex, The Wrestling Revolution Project, how social media does more harm than good for independent wrestling, and the majesty of Evan Gelistico’s face. And more! Much more! We’re back! Get into it!

The Mandible Claw Podcast #9: Waiting for the Punchline

Podcast visual aids after the jump!

gelistico1Evan Gelistico Face Appreciation Club Current Members List: Me

Wrestling Retribution: Coming 2012…..ish

air sex

Pictured above: Brandon Stroud, Comedian Yamina Khouane, and Jojo Bravo

Air Sex is fun, and you should be a part of it! Donate to the documentary here.

bubbles

She’s hardcore!

12 Responses to “The Mandible Claw Podcast Episode 9: Waiting for the Punchline”

  1. michaelparshall July 2, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Great podcast guys. I too liked the Briscoes more before I learned their thoughts on gay marriage. ‘Why can’t everyone be Chikara?’ is a prevailing theme in my wrestling viewing.

  2. alopezb5 July 3, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    I’m more of a Blossom fan myself…

  3. David July 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Brandon, I will fight you for being wrong about Archie Comics, one of the top comic companies in the world. How dare you say that Reggie is the only decent character when Kevin Keller, his kickass army medic husband, Moose/Midge (and everything else from the multiple timelines in Life with Archie, one of the best comics being published right now), Mr. Lodge (aka Older Stephen Colbert), Sabrina and Salem, (especially del Rio’s run), and the entirety of Josie and the Pussy Cats exist. You Brandon, are wrong.

    • David July 3, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      The AIW stuff was spot on though. Even if the promoter was the best at twitter, I’d still be hesitant to continue buying events. I had watched about a dvd and a half before the GNO8 ippv and kind of enjoyed the wrestling, but was put off by some of the audience’s reactions. When I watched the GNO8 ippv, I was blown away by how misogynistic the audience was and became super uncomfortable. When I said that the audience reaction was poor, some fan that doesn’t follow me (and wasn’t watching the ippv) started complaining to/about me and saying that AIW’s audience is the best. I really regret buying the AIW dvds at NPWD (I haven’t bothered watching the rest of the unfinished show or any of the other dvds) and not going for the WSU ones.

      Given my experience with the audiences, I’m not at all surprised that they chanted that at ACH. As much as I enjoy wrestling, I don’t think it’s something I would want to share with my hypothetical child (and I’m comforted knowing that I’m not alone in that feeling).

      • David July 4, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

        One more thing; Tatanka is Native American.

  4. Bill July 5, 2013 at 5:49 am #

    David stop being such a pussy. Oh no they said mean things to the girls. There’s no way girls can handle something like that right David. I love people who get offended for someone else. Hey white knight you know those girls actually love wrestling in front of those fans because they treat them like the boys which is actually a huge compliment for them. It’s a fake fucking sport you idiot, do you enjoy anything without getting offended?

    • David July 8, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      lol, troll.

      (also, use the reply button so I can see what you post sooner)

  5. PhilBallins July 6, 2013 at 2:31 am #

    So, while on that Chikara tip, I’ve just finished watching the 2012 King of Trios and I really enjoyed it, where do I go from there with Chikara? Are there some particularly good PPVs I should skip around to? Should I just go in order?

  6. ScienceDog83 July 7, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I just like how, in the same podcast in which you give Anarchy and AIW flack for disillusioning their fanbase, you come up with “wrestling is for stupid people and babies.”

  7. Stacey July 11, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    So lots of people completely missed the points Brandon & Danielle made. Thanks for playing.

    I need to point out that yes, the only answer is Jeanette.

    • Stacey July 11, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      Side note: I live in the town next to Aurora, IL. I get to make lots of Wayne’s World references that none of my teens gets BECAUSE WE’RE OLD.

  8. pvc catsuits zentai September 21, 2014 at 4:17 am #

    Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    This sort of clever work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you
    guys to our blogroll.

Leave a Reply

